Latest News
HomeAssociationsAH&LA honors members with State Leadership Awards

AH&LA honors members with State Leadership Awards

The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA) announced the winners of the 2008 State Leadership Awards during its annual Legislative Action Summit (LAS). This award, formerly known as the Most Valuable Volunteer Award, was created in 1998 to honor the many volunteers who help strengthen both AH&LA and their partner state associations.

“Each recipient’s innovation and motivation has had an influential role in advancing the industry on the state and national level,” said AH&LA president/CEO Joseph A. McInerney, CHA.  “We are proud to honor and acknowledge their outstanding leadership in the hospitality community.” 

The award was presented to the following:

Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association: Todd Wilson – General Manager, Doubletree Guest Suites, Phoenix, Ariz.

Arkansas Hotel & Lodging Association: David Smith – General Manager, Red Apple Inn, Heber Springs, Ark.

California Hotel & Lodging Association: Wes Tyler – General Manager, Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, San Francisco, Calif.

Colorado Hotel & Lodging Association: George Fischer – Vice President, Destination Hotels & Resorts/Inverness Resort & Conference Center, Englewood, Colo.

Georgia Hotel & Lodging Association: Kevin Kobishop – General Manager, Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, Atlanta, Ga.

Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association: Ron Vlasic – Director of Operations/General Manager, Kimpton Hotels of Chicago/Hotel Allegro, Chicago, Ill.

Iowa Lodging Association: Tom Murray – General Manager, Country Inn & Suites, Clive, Iowa

Maine Innkeepers Association: Robert Smith – Owner/Lighthouse Keeper, Sebasco Harbor Resort, Sebasco Estates, Maine

Maryland Hotel & Lodging Association: Peter Komar – General Manager, Lodgian, Holiday Inn Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore, Md.

Montana Innkeepers Association: Maria Pochervina – General Manager, Holiday Inn Express Butte, Butte State, Mont.

New York State Hospitality & Tourism Association: Victor Nelson – General Manager, Ramada Inn Geneva Lakefront, Geneva, N.Y.

North Carolina Restaurant & Lodging Association: Thomas B. Ruff – Senior Vice President, The Biltmore Company, Asheville, N.C.

Ohio Hotel & Lodging Association: Alan Howe – General Manager, Hilton Columbus at Easton, Columbus, Ohio

Oklahoma Hotel & Lodging Association: Joe Geis, CHA – General Manager, Sleep Inn & Suites, Edmond, Okla.

Oregon Lodging Association: Chris Erickson – General Manager, Heathman Hotel, Portland, Ore.

Rhode Island Hospitality & Tourism Association: Angelo DePeri – General Manager, Renaissance Providence Hotel, Providence, R.I.

Tennessee Hotel & Lodging Association: Bard & Rhonda Edrington – Owners, Foliage Design Systems, College Grove, Tenn.

Texas Hotel & Lodging Association: James Walsh – General Manager, Barton Creek Resort & Spa, Austin, Texas

Virginia Hospitality & Travel Association: Jenifer N. Jackson, CLM – General Manager, Comfort Inn Harrisonburg, Harrisonburg, Va.

Washington State Hotel & Lodging Association: Tom Dezutter – General Manager, Doubletree Guest Suites, Seattle, Wash.

Wisconsin Innkeepers Association: Scott Krause – General Manager, Heidel House Resort & Evensong Spa, Green Lake, Wis.

Wyoming Lodging & Restaurant Association: Mark Demple – General Manager, Holiday Inn Sheridan, Sheridan, Wyo.

Award recipients are determined by AH&LA’s partner state associations.