Latest News
HomeRegional NewsAfricaRwandAir introduces 7am frequency to from Kigali to Nairobi
Carrier to introduce the 3rd frequency into Nairobi

RwandAir introduces 7am frequency to from Kigali to Nairobi

Beginning July 16, 2009, RwandAir will introduce a 7am frequency every on the Nairobi – Kigali route. Up until now, the airline has had a 4am and 11.50am flights for Nairobi.

“We want to cater for the category of our passengers who want to be in Nairobi mid morning. The 7am departure from Kigali gets you into Nairobi by 9am. I am sure this will come as a relief for passengers who found checking in at 2am in the morning for the 4am departure cumbersome. Our 4am frequency to Nairobi still remains and will be operated every Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday”, said Francine Sharangabo, the Airline Passenger Sales Manager. “However, the 11.50am departure to Nairobi remains seven days a week”, she added.

The Network Planning and Revenue Management department at RwandAir, have hinted at increasing passenger numbers on the Kigali – Nairobi route as one of the key reasons for the introduction of the third frequency. “We are looking into passenger number projections and combining this with feedback from the market which seems to indicate a high preference for the 7am flight”, said a statement from the department’s head.

With the high season reaching its peak, RwandAir has planned to introduce a fifth frequency into Johannesburg every Monday beginning August 2009. “September is not only a heritage month in Johannesburg, but it is also a shopping hotspot for the continent. We anticipate more travel into Jozi for the shopping festival hence the 5th frequency”, said Michael Otieno, Head of Marketing and Corporate Communications at RwandAir. “Of course advance bookings are already looking impressive, I think travelers should consider buying tickets now to avoid the last minute rush”, he added.

RwandAir has plans to fly into Johannesburg daily before the end of the year and is currently working on special offers and packages for the FIFA World Cup 2010.