Latest News
HomeRegional NewsEuropeThe Tourism Society welcomes two new Board members

The Tourism Society welcomes two new Board members

The Tourism Society

The Tourism Society introduced new board members Atlyn Forde and Robin Sheppard at its 47th AGM, enhancing the board with extensive DEI and hospitality expertise.

The Tourism Society announced two new Board members at its 47th AGM, hosted at the London Offices of JC Decaux. Atlyn Forde, CEO of Communicate Inclusively and Robin Sheppard Hon FTS, President of Bespoke Hotels joined the Board this month.

Atlyn is an inclusivity and engagement specialist, research and insights expert, and marketing and communications professional. Her experience includes roles at Caribtours, St Lucia Tourist Board and British Airline Pilots Association, before founding Communicate Inclusively in 2023 as a UK-based inclusive communication and DEI consultancy.

Robin Sheppard, needs little introduction, a classically trained hotelier with an eye for innovation, Robin started his hotel career running a series of outstanding country hotels. He founded Bespoke Hotels almost 25 years ago and, in that time, his creative marketing approach has broadened the customer base of all Bespoke Hotels. Robin’s most recent innovation is the launch of the Gotham Collection brand. Robin is a former Cahir of the Institute of Hospitality.

Atlyn and Robin join fellow board members Deborah Heather (Chair), Andy Woodward (Treasurer), Kurt Jansen OBE, Dr Julián Zarb, Martin Roberts, Shaon Talukder, Phill Clark, co-opted chairs of the ATHE, and TCN and President Lord John Thurso.

At the AGM the Board also said goodbye to three esteemed and long-standing board members, former Chair Kevin Kaley FTS, Richard Denman FTS, and Roger Goodacre FTS, TCN Chair.

Deborah Heather, Tourism Society Chair, said: “We are delighted to welcome Atlyn and Robin to the Board. Their vast experience, DEI and innovative approaches will undoubtedly enrich our organisation. At the same time, we extend our heartfelt gratitude to Kevin, Richard, and Roger for their invaluable contributions over the years. Their dedication and leadership have been instrumental in shaping the Tourism Society into what it is today.”

The Society is the only professional membership organisation of its kind that represents all of Tourism – across all disciplines, geography and career stages. The diverse membership ranges from senior executives and academics to self-employed entrepreneurs and tourism students.

Vicky Karantzavelou
Co-Founder & Chief Editor - TravelDailyNews Media Network | Website

Vicky is the co-founder of TravelDailyNews Media Network where she is the Editor-in Chief. She is also responsible for the daily operation and the financial policy. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Tourism Business Administration from the Technical University of Athens and a Master in Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Wales.

She has many years of both academic and industrial experience within the travel industry. She has written/edited numerous articles in various tourism magazines.