Latest News
HomeRegional NewsStar Alliance named Airline Alliance of the Year at Air Transport Awards 2022

Star Alliance named Airline Alliance of the Year at Air Transport Awards 2022

Continued industry leadership on the backbone of its commitment to enhancing customer experience.

SINGAPORE and EKALI, GREECE – Star Alliance has been named Airline Alliance of the Year at the Air Transport Awards for the fourth consecutive time.

The Air Transport Awards recognise excellence and innovation in various categories of the global aviation sector. A panel of aviation industry experts selected Star Alliance in recognition of its exceptional contribution to the future of air travel.

Winners were announced on February 10 at an award ceremony held in Ekali, Greece.

Accepting the accolade, Jeffrey Goh CEO Star Alliance commented: “Star Alliance is truly honoured to be a repeat winner of the prestigious Air Transport Award. Continued recognition of this nature is testament to our innovative spirit and our shared commitment in improving the customer experience. This award encourages us as we collectively emerge from the deepest crisis our industry has ever encountered.”

Established in 2012, Air Transport Awards are the only international prizes that award all the main categories of the air transport industry.

Dr Kostas Iatrou, President of the Air Transport Awards said: "This year we award Star Alliance as the Alliance of the Year for its unwavering commitment to make flight travel a truly customer friendly experience on all levels and phases by adopting innovation, sustainability and working to provide constantly improving digital easy-to-use services. Star Alliance members have once more proven their commitment to well-being of their passengers by adopting the highest Diamond Health Safety level in APEX Health Safety.”

In particular, the winners by category are as follows:

  • ATN Individual Award: Dr Yiannis Paraschis, CEO, Athens International Airport
  • ATN Corporate Award: Pegasus Airlines 
  • ATN International Organisation Award: European Commission
  • Alliance of the Year: Star Alliance
  • Airport of the Year: iGA Istanbul Airport 
  • Airline of the Year: Air Arabia
  • Hermes Award: Harry Theoharis 
  • “Katerina & George Iatrou” Lifetime Achievement Award: Jeff Poole, President, Hermes – Air Transport Organisation 
  • Leader of the Year: Pieter Elbers, President & CEO, KLM
News Editor - TravelDailyNews Media Network | + Posts

Tatiana is the news coordinator for TravelDailyNews Media Network (, and Her role includes monitoring the hundreds of news sources of TravelDailyNews Media Network and skimming the most important according to our strategy.

She holds a Bachelor's degree in Communication & Mass Media from Panteion University of Political & Social Studies of Athens and she has been editor and editor-in-chief in various economic magazines and newspapers.