Latest News
HomeRegional NewsAsia-PacificApplications for Thailad Tourism Awards 2012 due to open in November 2011
Tourism Authority of Thailand

Applications for Thailad Tourism Awards 2012 due to open in November 2011

Applications for the Thailand Tourism Awards 2012 will be open for submission during November 2011 to January 2012, and then undergo a detailed scrutiny process before the winners are announced on World Tourism Day, September 27, 2012.

Initiated by the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) in 1996, the Thailand Tourism Awards are held bi-annually. They are designed to reward best-practises in the Thai travel and tourism industry and encourage companies and organisations to constantly strive for higher professional standards.

The primary judging criteria goes beyond just individual product design and service delivery. It includes how the applicants help conserve the country’s natural resources, mitigate climate change, contribute to economic and social development particularly sufficiency economy, practice good governance and pursue innovation.

TAT Governor Suraphon Svetasreni said, "Because of the strict and stringent criteria that goes into the judging, the Awards have become recognised as proof of the TAT’s desire to promote quality development of the tourism industry. We want the Awards to be globally recognised as a symbol of quality."

He said by recognising and honouring the industry entrepreneurs for their direct and indirect contributions towards raising the standards and professionalism, the TAT strives to reward their hard work by helping them boost their competitive advantage and marketing efforts.

Since their launch, the Awards have been conferred on 406 companies, organisations and institutions, broken down into 120 Awards of Excellence, 284 Outstanding Awards and 2 Honorary Awards.

In 2007, TAT organised the Thailand Tourism Awards 2007 in a special way to commemorate His Majesty the King’s 80th Birthday on December 5, 2007 by conferring “The Outstanding Community Based Tourism Awards” on 62 community-based tourism projects, 40 environmental-friendly hotels and 4 tour operators.

For 2012, the Awards are categorised into six groups:
1) Tourist attractions; 2) Tourist accommodation; 3) Tour Programmes; 4) Tourism Development and Promotion Organisations; 5) Health tourism and 6) Innovative Tourism Marketing and Public Relations (this last category is being introduced for the first time).

The Panel of Judges includes the following industry experts and key academics:
– Asst. Prof. Surachet Chettamas, Chairman of the Tourist Attraction Committee
– Asst. Prof. Chirapol Sinthunava, Chairman of the Tourist Accommodation Committee
– Mr Suparerk Surangkul, Chairman of the Tour Programmes Committee
– Mr Visanu Empraneet, Chairman of the Tourism Development and Promotion Organizations Committee
– Mrs Suchada Yuvaboon, Chairman of the Health Tourism Committee
– Dr Supachai Lorlowhakarn, Director of the National Innovation Agency, Chairman of the Innovation on Tourism Marketing and Public Relations Committee.

Winners are also able to generate considerable commercial value from the Awards via the higher marketing profile they get through extensive promotions by the TAT across various media outlets, including online.

Co-Founder & Managing Director - Travel Media Applications | Website

Theodore is the Co-Founder and Managing Editor of TravelDailyNews Media Network; his responsibilities include business development and planning for TravelDailyNews long-term opportunities.