Latest News
HomeColumnsFeatured ArticlesValidity, cost and all about ETIAS – The new passport to travel in Europe
Featured articles

Validity, cost and all about ETIAS – The new passport to travel in Europe

European Travel Information and Authorization System is a fully automated safety and security system. It conducts strict checks to ascertain whether to approve or reject a tourist’s application for travel authorization to Schengen states.

From now onwards, people with the right to tour visa-free to Schengen and European Union countries will require a permit through the system called ETIAS. Citizens of these nations will have to undergo a rigorous screening procedure. Officials will make use of the new electronic set-up for doing so.

If you are not cognizant of ETIAS, which stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System, know that it is the latest system, which will necessitate all tourists to step into the Schengen area with the waiver visa. This specific system is applicable for the citizens (only eligible countries) who do not require carrying or submitting legal papers or documentations to visit a Schengen state. 

Visit if you are interested in obtaining more valuable information regarding the ETIAS visa.

Vital things to know about ETIAS visa
The European Commission proposed to develop the ETIAS system under visa-free agreements to improve and fortify travel safety and security in the Schengen states. The system will conduct a pre-tour check for security purposes besides migration risks of visa-free tourists. Such a useful method will help officials detect potential security issues beforehand, manage the EU’s external border areas efficiently and tighten internal security.

In simple words, this latest set-up is nothing but a sort of electronic travel authorization. Implementation of this new system will enhance security within the EU borders. In 2016, the European Union began the legal course of action to introduce the latest system. However, it will become functional at the end of the next year, 2022.

What to do to obtain an ETIAS travel permit?
It is hassle-free to get hold of the travel authorization. An applicant needs to fill up an application form and submit it online. It is necessary for every applicant to answer a few questions related to health and security. Remember that postal or mail applications are not acceptable. The advanced system will cross-check each applicant’s provided information with its several trusted databases. The sole objective of doing so is to determine whether an applicant is a threat to the Schengen nation’s security.

With the digitization of the European Travel Information and Authorization System, it will become a lot easier and quicker to search tourists’ profiles. Travellers who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen regions will now be required to file an application online for an electronic travel permit through the latest system prior to their tour.

What is the duration to file the application?
As one has to apply online for the travel authorization, it’s quite expected that it won’t take more than 10 minutes. Once you submit your application, the processing procedure will take place instantly, and within 96 hours, the system will provide you with a decision. Know that only when there is a requirement for extra documents, processing an applicant's application takes nearly 3-4 weeks. 

No one can enter a country within the EU borders unless and until they receive approval for ETIAS. To step into any of the Schengen countries, it is a must for individuals who are on holiday or business trips to boast an approved travel permit.

Validity of the travel authorization
The electronic travel authorization will remain valid for eligible citizens for a period of three years. Or, see it in this way that the validity of it is there until the passport expiry date. One can use it to enter and for stays of up to 3 months (90 days precisely) in a 6-month period (180 days to be precise.)

How much does an applicant require to pay for an ETIAS visa?
After correctly filling out the online application form for obtaining the travel authorization permit, an applicant has to pay a certain amount for ensuring the proper processing of the application. One can use a credit or debit card to pay the processing charge. Once the screening of an applicant’s information gets completed from the database, they will receive the permit approval immediately.

A traveller (age between 18 and 70) will be required to pay only €7 euros while submitting the online application form. An applicant under 18 years of age or above 70 years of age will not have to pay any fee for an ETIAS visa application.

Who has to pay the application fee?
Applicants who belong to the ETIAS-eligible nations have to pay the fee for processing the online application for the travel permit. Below-mentioned is the list of the countries eligible. Travellers from these places who have been entering the Schengen regions without official documents and requirements must file an application for the visa waiver and make payment to obtain the same.

  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • France
  • Iceland
  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Czech Republic
  • Portugal
  • Italy
  • Poland

Once applicants pay for the application processing charge, they won't have to pay for the same again. Check out the list of all nations in the Schengen area

Information that an applicant requires to provide
The ETIAS system is capable of verifying the information that an applicant provides. The system evaluates whether an applicant seems to be a threat to the European Union community by taking their provided information into consideration. After the assessment, if the system finds out that in terms of security, migration or general public health, an applicant could pose a risk, it disapproves the application for a visa waiver.

  • An applicant must provide the below-mentioned information while filling out the application form.
  • Personal Information (Name, Date of Birth, Place of Birth, Country of Birth, Gender, Nationality, etc.)
  • Passport Details (Passport number, Issuance and Expiry date)
  • Contact Details (Mobile/Land Phone number, Email address and residential address)
  • Additional Information (Education qualification details, employment details)

Aside from the ones enumerated above, an applicant has to provide medical certificates-related information while submitting the online application for an ETIAS visa. However, applicants who wish to travel to nations in conflict or regions severely affected by infectious diseases or epidemics require providing this specific information besides the mandatory ones.

So, hopefully, it is now clear to you that the European Travel Information and Authorization System is a fully automated safety and security system. It conducts strict checks to ascertain whether to approve or reject a tourist’s application for travel authorization to Schengen states.

Sales & Marketing - Travel Media Applications | Website | + Posts