Latest News
HomeAssociationsABPCO reveals shortlist for Excellence Awards 2020

ABPCO reveals shortlist for Excellence Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 ABPCO Excellence Awards will be revealed on 7 December, 2020 during a virtual awards ceremony.

The Association of British Professional Conference Organisers (ABPCO) has revealed the finalists for its 2020 Excellence Awards.

  • Best Conference by an In-House Conference Organiser – The Association of Independent Professionals and the Self-Employed for the National Freelancers Day 2020; Archer Yates’ for The Oxford Farming Conference 2020; Healthcare Conferences UK for Prehabilitation Principles and Practice
  • Best Conference by an Agency Conference Organiser – MCI Group for the One Young World Summit; Abbey Conference and Events for the 30th World Congress for the International Association for Suicide Prevention; Haymarket Media Group and the CIPD for the CIPD Festival of Work
  • The best industry partnership category has been replaced this year by the partner recognition awards – nominations for which were received from both agency and in-house PCOs. The winners will be revealed at the awards.
  • In addition, and specifically for 2020 – several ABPCO members will be recognised in the Lockdown hero category for their extraordinary and creative work throughout the COVID pandemic.

The winners of the 2020 ABPCO Excellence Awards will be revealed on 7 December, 2020 during a virtual awards ceremony.

Shortlisted candidates have been selected by an independent panel of judges, but the winners will not be selected until the event itself – where the finalists each present details of their submission, who vote on the final outcome.

“This is the seventh year that we have run the ABPCO excellence awards and each year the judging process becomes more challenging,” comments Heather Lishman, ABPCO’s association director. “2020 has been particularly tough due to the creative ways our members have supported their associations and clients – ways that simply don’t fit simple categories such as best conference. It was with this in mind that we decided to create the Lockdown hero Awards, recognising those individuals and organisations that succeeded in doing something different and noteworthy.”

The 2020 ABPCO Excellence Awards will also include the presentation of the ABPCO Chairmen’s award, which goes to an individual or organisation displaying exceptional levels of professionalism, whilst balancing ABPCO’s core pillars of Belonging, Excellence and Learning.

Vicky Karantzavelou
Co-Founder & Chief Editor - TravelDailyNews Media Network | Website

Vicky is the co-founder of TravelDailyNews Media Network where she is the Editor-in Chief. She is also responsible for the daily operation and the financial policy. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Tourism Business Administration from the Technical University of Athens and a Master in Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Wales.

She has many years of both academic and industrial experience within the travel industry. She has written/edited numerous articles in various tourism magazines.