Events Industry Council announces new board and committee leadership for 2019 | TravelDailyNews International
  • Travel Daily News Asia
  • Travel Daily News Asia
  • Travel Daily News Greece & Cyprus
New Articles


Events Industry Council announces new board and committee leadership for 2019


The Events Industry Council board is comprised of nominated members of the overall Events Industry Council that consists of more than 30 organisations in the events industry.

WASHINGTON D.C. - The Events Industry Council announced the new board of directors slate and leaders for their key committees, including the CMP Governance Commission and the Industry Insights and Sustainability committees.

“We are excited to have such an accomplished group of leaders representing the events industry on our board, commission and committees. With a global focus for our organisation, this diverse group of professionals bring perspectives from all over the world as we continue to expand our global footprint in all that we do,” said Tina Wehmeir, CMP, CAE, Chair of the Events Industry Council board of directors.

Events Industry Council Board of Directors
The Events Industry Council board is comprised of nominated members of the overall Events Industry Council that consists of more than 30 organisations in the events industry. These leaders are the governing body for the overall council with fiscal responsibility and strategic direction for all Events Industry Council programmes.

2019 Officers:

  • Chair: Tina Wehmeir, CMP, CAE, AMC Institute
  • Chair-Elect: Paul Van Deventer, Meeting Professionals International
  • Immediate Past Chair: Susan Robertson, CAE, American Society of Association Executives & the Center for Association Leadership

2019 Directors:

  • David Audrain, Society of Independent Show Organizers
  • Steve Bova, CAE, Financial and Insurance Conference Professionals
  • Cathy Breden, CMP, CAE, International Association of Exhibitions and Events
  • Mark Cooper, IACC
  • Kim Gishler, Corporate Event Marketing Association
  • Don Welsh, Destinations International

2019 CMP Governance Commission
The Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) credential is recognised throughout the events industry and demonstrates an individual's comprehensive knowledge of meeting management as well as a commitment to the profession. The CMP programme is created and maintained by meeting professionals from around the globe. The Events Industry Council recruits seasoned CMPs to govern the programme and ensure that it is a true reflection of the events industry. The CMP Governance Commission is comprised of representatives from all sectors of the events industry, including planners and suppliers.

2019 Officers:

  • Chair: Aleka Garcia, CMP-HC, CMM, Pacific Communications
  • Chair-Elect: Barbara Connell, CMP, CAE, American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy
  • Immediate Past Chair: Erin Tench, CMP, CMM, Penn State University

Commission Members:

  • Sathya Darshan Chinni, CMP, Eventures
  • Tim Glanzer, CMP, Elevated Meeting Solutions
  • Christine Faiman, CMP, Marriott International
  • Deanna Griffith-House, CMP, PMP, CME, PCM, CMM, Spectrum Reach
  • Tyra Hilliard, CMP, PhD., JD, College of Costal Georgia
  • Cornelia Horner, CMP, American Land Title Association
  • Leslie Jones, CMP, CAE, AOTA
  • Alisa Peters, CMP, CMM, Experient – A Maritz Travel Company
  • Jessica McLane Gann, Inteleos
  • Steven Lorenz, CMP, HMCC, Meetings & Incentives Worldwide, Inc.
  • Robert Webb, CMP, MBA, ASCD

2019 Sustainability Committee
The Events Industry Council Sustainability Initiative seeks to inspire, educate and support leaders of all levels and disciplines who will manifest the transformation of the global meetings industry towards sustainability. The committee champions the implementation of sustainability practices and provides advocacy, education, resources, industry research and recognition of industry leadership.

2019 Officers:

  • Chair: Courtney Lohmann, CMP, Koncept Events
  • Vice-Chair: Chance Thompson, SMG-Salt Palace Convention Center and Mountain America Exposition Center
  • Immediate Past Chair: Lindsay Arell, Honeycomb Strategies

2019 Committee Members:

  • Angie Ahrens, CMP, LeaderCast
  • Gwendal Castellan, Tourism Vancouver
  • Kevin Jezewski, SAVOR, McCormick Place
  • Alejandra González, Eventos Sustentables
  • Meghan Green, SAP
  • Sara Patterson, CMP, Public Housing Authorities Directors Association
  • Steven Pollock, CMP, HelmsBriscoe
  • Benoit Sauvage, CMP, DMCP, Connect DMC
  • Ben Wielgus, Informa
  • Nancy Zavada, CMP, MeetGreen

2019 Industry Insights Committee
Industry Insights, formerly the Accepted Practices Exchange (APEX), is a committee of the Events Industry Council that focuses on development and implementation of industry-wide accepted practices to create and enhance efficiency throughout the events industry.

2019 Officers:

  • Chair: Gary Murakami, CMP, CTC, GTP, GLP, CMM, MGM Resorts International
  • Vice-Chair: Allison Kinsley, CMP, CMM CED, Kinsley Meetings
  • Immediate Past Chair: Miguel Neves, CMP,

2019 Committee Members:

  • Dan Berger, Social Tables and Cvent
  • Betsy Bondurant, CMM, CTE Bondurant Consulting
  • Andre Cholewinski, CMP, Interel Group
  • Danielle Cirami-Gillis, Northstar Meetings Group
  • Matt Harvey, PSAV
  • Carol Krugman, CMP, MEd CMM, Krugman Maller LLC
  • Andrea Peterson, CMP, MTA, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Lauren Liles, CMP, Society for Human Resource Management
  • Stacy Nerf, Delta Airlines
  • Amy Norris, CMP, CTA, HelmsBriscoe
  • Margaret O'Gorman, CMP, Butler County Visitors Bureau
6 Days News
Viking Polaris delivered
Maureva acquires XLM AERO
The best casinos in Norway
Edinburgh to Atlanta for Summer '23
Opening of Six Senses Rome
Planitas partners with Breeze Airways
L1 visa business plan